Where does the tomahawk steak come from?

rib. A highly marbled, exquisitely tender and flavorful steak, the tomahawk is primarily taken from the longissimus (Latin for “longest one”) dorsi, or loin, of the steer. This consists of two muscles outside of the steer's rib cage that run along both sides of the spine.