How is salami made?

Salami is a type of Italian cued sausage, generally dry and hard compared to other types of sausage. It is made form ground meat (usually pork or beef) mixed with seasonings and stuffed into a casing, then dry cured until a desired hardness is achieved.

---

raw meat is ground and mixed with other ingredients such as salt, sugar, spices and yeast. This mixture is then inserted into casings. To achieve flavor and texture fermentation, has to take place. After fermentation, the sausage must be dried.