Are shamrock and clover the same thing?

While “shamrock” is often used to refer to types of clovers found in Ireland, it should be noted that the term is not actually associated with any specific clover species. Traditionally, shamrocks have been used as a symbol of Ireland. A clover must have three leaves to be considered a shamrock.