Why does the earth turn?

Earth turns because of the way it was formed. Our Solar System formed about 4.6 billion years ago when a huge cloud of gas and dust started to collapse under its own gravity. As the cloud collapsed, it started to spin. ... The Earth keeps on spinning because there are no forces acting to stop it.