What's the difference between quinoa and rice?

Rice is a cereal grain. White rice has the husk, bran, and germ removed. Brown rice only has the husk removed, so it retains fiber and germ which contain vital nutrients. Quinoa is the seed of the goosefoot plant. From a nutritional point of view, quinoa beats rice in most categories.