What does it mean when you crave salt?

Salt craving is a compelling or extreme desire to consume salt or salty foods. Craving for salt is a common symptom of Addison's disease (decreased production of hormones by the adrenal glands), dehydration, and electrolyte imbalances. It can also be seen in rare kidney disorders