Why can't dogs have marshmallows?

Can Dogs Eat Marshmallows? Technically, yes. But we advise you against it. An occasional marshmallow won’t hurt your dog. But marshmallows are basically mini sugar pillows, and sugar is not a beneficial part of the canine diet.