What happens after you beat the ender dragon?

In Minecraft, after the Ender Dragon is killed, a Dragon Egg spawns on top of the bedrock on the main island. Obtaining this egg can be tricky as it cannot be mined in any way. Players will need to push the egg with a piston and land it on a torch to turn it into an item that players can pick up.