Who's weirton willie?

Wiarton Willie is a groundhog who lives in the Wiarton, Ontario, Canada. Every February 2, on Groundhog Day, Willie takes part in the local Wiarton Willie Festival. His role is to predict whether there will be an early spring. A statue and a monument were created to honor him.