Has there ever been a hurricane on the west coast?

In the Atlantic region, hurricanes form anywhere from the tropical central Atlantic to the Gulf of Mexico. But to make it all the way to the U.S. West Coast, the storms have to traverse a long stretch of ocean water that is far too cold to sustain hurricanes.