Who invented the elevator?

in 1852, Elisha Graves Otis invented a safety break that revolutionized the vertical transport industry. In the event that an elevator's hoisting rope broke, a spring would operate pawls on the car, forcing them into position with racks at the sides of the shaft and suspending the car in place