What's the difference between a taco and a fajita?

The word "fajita" is a reference to the type of meat being served, while "taco" refers to how the food is served. "Fajita" means "little belts" in Spanish, and only refers to the meat. Taco means plug in Spanish, which is a reference to how the tortilla is folded over the meat and fillings.