What does it mean when a dog smiles?

They're smiling because they are calm and relaxed and, because of that, one could venture that your pet is happy. Similarly, some dogs will appear to smile if they are showing submission to their human counterparts. This relates to the dog being in a relaxed muscular state.

---

When a dog smiles it usually means, it’s very happy.