What's the glycemic index for potatoes?

Potatoes can range in GI value from 53 to 111, with white potatoes typically showing up lower on the index. Leaving the skin on adds fiber, which can reduce the potato's effect on glucose. Often, the sweet potato is rated with a GI in the mid-40s.