How are popcorn kernels made?

The popcorn kernels come from only one variety of Maize known as Zea mays everta (the plant). While this may look like the sweet corns, only Zea mays var. everta (a.k.a popcorn) have the ability to pop and turn a bowl of seeds into a delicious snack.