Who won the nobel prize for literature in nineteen forty six?

According to the Nobel Prize website, the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1946 was awarded to Hermann Hesse "for his inspired writings which, while growing in boldness and penetration, exemplify the classical humanitarian ideals and high qualities of style."