Why do british lawyers where wigs?

the entire purpose of a lawyer wearing a wig is to reinforce the idea of anonymity; it's basically the same concept as "the law is blind." The law should be "blind" to race, ethnicity, social standing, net worth, Instagram followers, or your political affiliations.