Are hydrangea plants poisonous to cats?

the leaves, flowers and buds of the hydrangea plant contain a chemical known as amygdalin. In its natural form, amygdalin is not toxic; however, when it is metabolized by the body (whether it be dog or cat), it produces cyanide, which can be toxic to mammals.