Why do people start carving pumpkins?

The origins of pumpkin carving and decoration goes back to ancient cultures of the world. Celtic cultures were the first to introduce carving, which later became a staple of Irish culture. The carved produce served as a deterrent to keep Jack away, while lighting the way for good spirits.