Why do they call school school?

'School' comes from the Greek word 'scholē', which means "leisure." ... The Romans borrowed the Greek word with its educational meanings as schola, which became scōl in Old English. This word evolved into scole in Middle English and then school under the renewed influence of the Latin form.