What is the f. l. q. crisis?

The October Crisis refers to a chain of events that started in October 1970 when the Front de libération du Québec kidnapped the provincial Labour Minister Pierre Laporte and British diplomat James Cross. These events saw Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau invoking the War Measures Act during peacetime.