What was the first video game invented?

Alan Turing and David Champernowne developed the earliest known video game, a 1948 chess simulation, but it was never implemented as it was too complicated for the computers of the time. The earliest demonstrated game was a tic-tac-toe game that was created for the 1950 Canadian National Exposition.