How is a mandolin tuned?

The standard mandolin tuning is the same as violin tuning: G-D-A-E, from low to high. The only difference is that the mandolin has eight strings, but the violin has only four. On a mandolin, you tune each course or pair of strings to the same pitch, so the mandolin's tuning is really G-G-D-D-A-A-E-E