Who created plants versus zombies?

Plants vs. Zombies was designed by George Fan, who conceptualized it as a more defense-oriented sequel to his fish simulator game Insaniquarium (2001). The video game franchise was developed by PopCap Games, a subsidiary of Electronic Arts (EA).