What is uniqua from the backyardigans?

Uniqua is a pink spotted character who is curious, self-confident, and adventurous. She likes to tell jokes and make her friends laugh. The series uses the name "Uniqua" for both the character and her species. She wears pink, polka-dotted overalls and has swirled antenna on top of her head.