How many people run the boston marathon every year?

Just 15 people ran the Boston Marathon in 1897. It now attracts an average of about 30000 registered participants each year. The Centennial Boston Marathon in 1996 established a record as the world's largest marathon with 38708 entrants, 36748 starters, and 35868 finishers.