What does it mean when a dog stares into your eyes?

It means that your dog adores you but if it is a dog that's not familiar with you or nervous, take it as a warning to back off. Never stare into an unfamiliar dogs eyes as he will take that as you are challenging his dominance and he may show his dominance aggressively