Why do we decorate christmas trees at christmas?

Long before Christianity, plants and trees that remained green all year had a special meaning for people in the winter. Just as today we decorate with pine, spruce, and fir trees, ancient peoples did as well, but instaed of being ornamental it was to ward off witches, evil spirits and illness.