Is chlorine an acid?

Chlorine by itself is not acidic nor basic because it contains no H+ ions, but when it reacts with water forming hydrochloric and hypochlorous acids it becomes an acid solution. If a strong acid or base is dissolved in water, will all of its parts have the concentration?