Is five nights at freddy's scary?

In a word: yes. The game builds incredible tension and relies on edge-of-your-seat jump scares to spook players. And while there's no blood or gore, it features a slew of creepy animatronic characters whose appearances and demeanors are enough to make your skin crawl.