How to get a sliver out?

Depending on the material, a pair of tweezers is the universal method. if the sliver is too deep, pushing up on the skin from below the slivers lowest point can force the sliver up and out making them easier to grab. Ferrous metals like steel can possibly be removed with a magnet if available.