Is american cheese real cheese?

American cheese isn't even considered to be real cheese. It's called a "pasteurized cheese product." In order for a food product to be a true “cheese,” it has to be more than half cheese, which is technically pressed curds of milk. American cheese is not made with at least 51 percent of real cheese.