How many years can a snail sleep for?

Snails need moisture to survive; so if the weather is not cooperating, they can actually sleep up to three years. Depending on geography, snails can shift into hibernation (which occurs in the winter), or estivation (also known as 'summer sleep'), helping to escape warm climates.