Who invented the french fries?

Common lore claims that the original fry was born in Namur, Belgium. Locals were particularly fond of fried fish. When the River Meuse froze over one cold winter in 1680, people ostensibly fried potatoes instead of the small fish they were accustomed to, and the fry was born.