What's in a pokeball?

In the games, Pokémon visibly shrink into the balls. Either way, they are sucked inside of the ball. All of this indicates that the ball is able to convert creatures to fit inside itself. In the Pokémon anime, there's nothing inside the ball but its mechanical insides.