How big is the oort cloud?

The Oort cloud, first described in 1950 by Dutch astronomer Jan Oort, is a spherical layer of icy objects surrounding our Sun extending to approximately 3 light years.

---

Named for the Dutch astronomer Jan Oort, who demonstrated its existence, the Oort cloud comprises objects that are less than 100 km (60 miles) in diameter and that number perhaps in the trillions, with an estimated total mass 10–100 times that of Earth