What is fermented rice?

Fermented rice, or Jiuniang, is a sweet soup-or pudding-like dish in Chinese cuisine. It is also known as sweet wine or sweet rice wine. It consists of a mixture of partially digested rice grains floating in a sweet saccharified liquid, with small amounts of alcohol and lactic acid.