Why is new mexico called new mexico?

New Mexico comes from the Spanish name of Nuevo Mexico; given to the region north of Mexico in the 1560s by Spanish explorers who hoped to find gold and wealth equal to Mexico's Aztec treasures. The current name is an anglicized version for this upper Rio Grande area.

---

New Mexico was named by the Spanish for lands north of the Rio Grande; the upper region of the Rio Grande was called Nuevo Mexico as early as 1561.