Why do chinchillas take dust baths?

In lieu of soap and water, chinchillas “bathe” in fine dust which helps evenly distribute natural oils, clears away dirt and debris, and keeps their fur silky soft. In their native, arid habitats in the mountainous regions of South America, chinchillas use volcanic ash to keep clean.