How many ribs does a human being have?

Most people are born with 12 ribs on each side of the body, making a total of 24 ribs. Some people are born with more than 24 ribs. These extra ribs are called supernumerary ribs. When people are born with less than 24 ribs, it is called agenesis of the ribs.