When do monarch butterflies lay their eggs?

Monarch females (the ones without dark spots on their wings) lay, on average, 700 eggs over two to five weeks in August. These eggs are about the size of a pinhead! Monarchs lay their eggs on Common Milkweed plants, usually on the underside of the leaves.