How long can you survive in freezing water?

In water that is around the freezing point, a person is likely to survive only 15 to 45 minutes without flotation and possibly up to an hour or so with flotation and protective gear before the brain and heart stop.

---

Generally, a person can survive in 41-degree F (5-degree C) water for 10, 15 or 20 minutes before the muscles get weak, you lose coordination and strength, which happens because the blood moves away from the extremities and toward the center, or core, of the body.