When did the dixie chicks change their name to the chicks?

The Tonight the Heartache's On Me hit-makers made the announcement on June 25 via an official press release, to help highlight racial inequality in the US. "Dixie" was often used as a nickname for the southern states that made up the Confederate States of America during the US Civil War era