How many points does a compass have?

You can get almost as complex as you want. The compass has four cardinal points, N, E, S, and W. Between them are another four ordinal points, NE, SE, SW, and NW. Between those 8 points are the 8 half-winds, NNE, ENE, and so on. The full set includes 128 total points.