What is the difference between distance and displacement?

Distance is a numerical measure of the separation of two objects, points, or places. Displacement can have several related meanings but in this sense, it is the change of position of an object, point or place. For example, "the geologic fault caused the ground to be displaced".

---

Distance is how far away something is, i.e. Halifax and Ottawa, Displacement is when something is put in a place unusual to where it is usually placed, a tooth is loosened, so it has been displaced.