How do you get a fly out of your house?

Combine equal parts of apple cider vinegar and dish soap in a small bowl and add a pinch of sugar to the mix. Ideally, the dish soap will have a fruity smell. The fermented smell from the vinegar can attract flies, the soap is what kills them.