Why do dogs sniff their butts?

"Because the odor is unique to every dog, two dogs can quickly determine if they have met before." Dogs sniff rear ends as a form of greeting and obtain vital information from the anal secretions. And because the odor is unique to every dog, two dogs can quickly determine if they have met before.