What is a jigger?

A jigger equates to 1.5 US Fluid ounces. It also serves as the name for the basic hourglass-shaped stainless-steel measuring device often seen in bars consisting of two measuring cups. The larger cup measures one jigger, and the smaller cup is one half-jigger, or 3/4 ounces.