What's the difference between white wine vinegar and white vinegar?

Smell alone will tell you that white vinegar and white wine vinegar are pretty different. White vinegar smells much more sour. It also lacks any other aromas or flavours. White wine vinegar is much less harsh. It's still sour, but it's mellower. It also has a subtle fruit aroma.