Who is the first band to play the soviet union?

I'm guessing you are thinking of a band from another country that played the Soviet Union rather than a Soviet Union band. In August 1976, Cliff Richard became the first Western rock act to play behind the Iron Curtain, playing twelve dates in Leningrad (now Saint Petersburg) and eight in Moscow.